

# Bucks County Association of Township Officials

## 113<sup>th</sup> Annual Convention Meeting Minutes

As a result of the pandemic due to Covid, the 113th Annual BCATO Convention took place virtually on February 20, 2021.

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by President Maggie Rash, Supervisor for Buckingham Township. The Pledge of Allegiance followed led by Diana Nolan, Upper Makefield Township Supervisor.

### **Bucks County Commissioners**

Chair of the Bucks County Commissioners Diane Marseglia, Vice Chair Bob Harvey, and member Gene DiGirolamo joined virtually for Q &A.

Commissioner Marseglia fielded questions regarding the need for low-income housing in Bucks County. Commissioner Harvie discussed the new online voter registration and mail-in voting procedures and operations at the Board of Elections. Mr. DiGirolamo discussed the devastating impact the pandemic has had on those struggling with substance abuse. President Rash concluded the Q&A session by thanking the Commissioners for their time and willingness to join BCATO for the Annual Convention.

#### **Bucks County Officials Panel Discussion**

Matt Weintraub, Bucks County District Attorney, shared how the DA's office has pivoted during the pandemic to address public safety and law enforcement issues. Events such as Senior Expos are now virtual. There has been no lapse in police coverage in the County. Generally speaking, law enforcement activities have been consistent with pre-pandemic level. D.A. Weintraub shared the adoption of Use of Force Policy by all 39 police departments across the County and discussed the new co-responder program being deployed in several municipalities.

## Coffee Break

**Consent Agenda-** Consider approval of the 112<sup>th</sup> Annual Convention Meeting Minutes; 2019 Audit Letter, 2019 Financial Reports and 2021 Annual Budget.

**MOTION**: A motion was made by Supervisor Diana Nolan and seconded by Supervisor Dave Nyman. Without objections, the motion passed.

**Election of Directors for 2021 BCATO Board of Directors** -The membership voted on the slate of candidates and the following members were elected to serve on the 2021 BCATO Board of Directors:

Directors Maggie Rash, Buckingham Diana Nolan, Upper Makefield Dave Nyman, East Rockhill Richard Weaver, Newtown Joseph DiGirolamo, Bensalem Barbara Lyons, Doylestown Vincent Deon Northampton Ruth Schemm, Warrington

Delegates Bill Jones, New Britain Township Fred Gaines, Warrington Jim Miller, West Rockhill

Returning Past Presidents Judith Algeo, Warwick Chester Pogonowski, Wrightstown Kathy Babb, Haycock

#### Presentation of the BCATO Service Award in Honor of George Metzger

President Rash presented Barbara Lyons, Supervisor Doylestown Township with the Award for 2020. The Awards committee had selected Ms. Lyons due to her outstanding service and numerous accomplishments for the residents of Doylestown Township.

**Consideration of 2021 Resolutions** – Nine resolutions were put forth for consideration. Following discussion, participating members voted. <u>2021 Resolutions Report</u>

Announcement/Adjournment- President Rash motioned to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Mr. Nyman. The 113<sup>th</sup> Annual Virtual Convention was adjourned at approximately 11:40

Respectfully submitted,

Stacey Mulholland Executive Director/Secretary