BUCKS COUNTY ASSOCIATION OF TOWNSHIP OFFICIALS

MEETING MINUTES

A meeting of the Bucks County Association of Township Officials was held on Wednesday, February 12, 2020 at 12:00 p.m.

MEMBERS: Joseph DiGirolamo, Bensalem Township

Maggie Rash, Buckingham Township *Barbara Lyons, Doylestown Township Kathy Gentner, Durham Township David Nyman, East Rockhill Township

*Kathy Babb, Haycock Township Tom Courduff, Milford Township William Jones, New Britain Township Dick Weaver, Newtown Township

Diana Nolan, Upper Makefield Township

*Judith Algeo, Warwick Township

Chester Pogonowski, Wrightstown Township Terry Clemons, Clemons Richter & Reiss, P.C.

Vince Deon, Northampton Township Amy Schreiber, Executive Director

*NOT PRESENT

- **1. Call to Order:** President Maggie Rash called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.
- 2. Approval of the Minutes January 8, 2020

MOTION: A motion was made by Mr. Nyman and, seconded by Ms. Nolan to approve the minutes of January 8, 2020. The motion carried unanimously

Approval of the Minutes - December 11, 2019

MOTION: A motion was made by Mr. Jones and, seconded by Mr. Nyman to approve the minutes of December 11, 2019. The motion carried unanimously

3. Treasurer's Report - January 2020:

Mr. Weaver presented the financial statements for January 2020. Mr. Weaver stated that the organization was in good financial standing with total current assets starting 2020 at \$99,379.21. Mr. Weaver also shared that even though the balance sheets show three bank accounts but, will all be one under the "program fund". He went on to further share that he met with the Audit Committee and the books are sound and set for the announcement at the upcoming Annual Convention. He then passed out the 2020 Budget for Board approval. Mr. Nyman had a question of legislative initiatives being kept as a separate line item from general fund spending. Mr. Weaver shared that all legislative initiatives would show as a separate line item even in the new accounting format.

MOTION: A motion was made by Dave Nyman, seconded by Diana Nolan to approve the January 2020 Financial Statements. The motion carried unanimously.

MOTION: A motion was made by Dave Nyman, seconded by Diana Nolan to approve the 2020 Budget. The motion carried unanimously.

4. Executive Director Report

Ms. Amy Schreiber thanked Mr. Weaver on all his hard work preparing the 2020 Budget for roll out at the upcoming Annual Convention. Ms. Schreiber then shared the outcome report of the Nomination Committee's (Jane Magne of Wrightstown and Ed Kissleback of Bensalem) recommendations for new Executive Board additions. She shard that three applicants were submitted: Fred Gaines of Warrington Township, Jim Miller of West Rockhill and Eileen Silver of Northampton Township. Ms. Schreiber went on to further share that the Nominating Committee were very impressed with Mr. Gaines and Mr. Miller and shared the positives concerning Ms. Silver's qualifications. The main concern with Ms. Silver is the BCATO by laws of no two members from the same township shall serve on the Board and that the Board should reflect representation of the County as a whole. The recommendations were received, and Mr. Miller and Mr. Gaines were approved and then it was then decided that Ms. Silver should have a position on a subcommittee. The Board

was very appreciative of all the applicants' interest and qualifications. Ms. Rash stated that she is going to meet with Ms. Silver and see if she would be interested in holding a subcommittee leadership role. Ms. Schreiber then shared the details for the Annual Convention and that attendance was up to the maximum of 120 and the exhibit table were also maxed out at 16 up from 7 tables the previous year. All materials were printed, food was ordered and needs were set in place for a successful event.

5. Guest Speaker - Fred Harran, Director of Public Safety

Mr. Harran shared a presentation of how the legalization of marijuana negatively effects public safety, increases hospital and ER visits, increases crime and raises local costs to municipalities. The Board thanked him for taking the time to provide important information for consideration of a possible resolution opposing the legalization of marijuana.

6. Other Business

Mr. Nyman shared three possible resolutions to bring forward at the Annual Convention for consideration and if passed by a full membership vote at the 112th Annual Convention the Resolution(s) would be presented at PSATS at the statewide Annual Convention in May:

• Be it resolved that PSATS opposes any legislation to legalize the recreational use of marijuana.

MOTION: A motion was made by Diana Nolan, seconded by Dave Nyman. The motion carried unanimously.

• Resolves, that PSATS continue to oppose any legislation that would preempt local control of zoning and land use, including legislation to exempt agriculture from land use requirements.

MOTION: A motion was made by Maggie Rash, seconded by Diana Nolan. The motion carried unanimously.

 Resolved that PSATS seek legislation to amend the Sterling Act (Act 45 of 1932) and Department of Community and Economic Development policy to adopt the apportionment procedure for calculating the Philadelphia Tax Credit, wherein any tax collection committee, tax collection committee tax appeals board, and tax collection committee-appointed tax collector shall honor credits for wage tax paid to Philadelphia to the extent that such credits are accurately calculated using apportionment; AND FURTHER, that the Philadelphia Tax Credit shall not be used to reduce or eliminate earned income tax owed to any school district or municipality in a tax collection district on income that is not eared within Philadelphia; and, no credit against EIT owed to any school district or municipality in a TCD shall be allowed by any TCC, TCC tax appeals board, or TCC-appointed tax collector to the extent that such credit is claimed based on the super credit procedure. BUCKS AND CHESTER COUNTY

MOTION: A motion was made by Dave Nyman, seconded by Bill Jones. The motion carried unanimously.

7. Adjournment:

With no further business, a motion was made by Dave Nyman and seconded by Diana Nolan to adjourn the meeting at 1:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy Schreiber Executive Director