BUCKS COUNTY ASSOCIATION OF TOWNSHIP OFFICIALS

MEETING MINUTES

A meeting of the Bucks County Association of Township Officials was held on Thursday, August 22, 2019 at 5:50 p.m.

*Joseph DiGirolamo, Bensalem Township **MEMBERS:** Maggie Rash, Buckingham Township *Barbara Lyons, Doylestown Township *Kathy Gentner, Durham Township David Nyman, East Rockhill Township *Kathy Babb, Haycock Township Tom Courduff, Milford Township William Jones, New Britain Township Dick Weaver, Newtown Township David Long, Springfield Township Diana Nolan, Upper Makefield Township Dan McPhillips, Warminster Township *Judith Algeo, Warwick Township Don Duval, West Rockhill Township Chester Pogonowski, Wrightstown Township Terry Clemons, Clemons Richter & Reiss, P.C. Vince Deon, Northampton Township *Amy Schreiber, Executive Director

***NOT PRESENT**

1. Call to Order: President Dan McPhillips called the meeting to order at 5:50 p.m.

2. Approval of the Minutes - July 10, 2019

MOTION: A motion was made by Bill Jones, seconded by Tom Courduff to approve the minutes of July 10, 2019. The motion carried unanimously

3. Treasurer's Report – July, 2019: Mr. Weaver presented the financial statements for July, 2019.

MOTION: A motion was made by Bill Jone, seconded by Diana Nolan to approve the July, 2019 Financial Statements. The motion carried unanimously.

4. Executive Director Report (Dan McPhillips)

(1) Dr. Richard "Doc" Derstine Youth Award – We have not received any applications for consideration.

[2] Fall Reception & Dinner – Dan noted that PSATS has offered to provide and Environmental Speaker and a Legislative Update. Additionally, we plan to have a speaker from the Bucks County Planning Commission to provide an IT update and an economic development update.

(2) Legislative Committee Dinner – August 28th at Toscana.

5. Other Business

State Representative Frank Farry attended the meeting to provide an update on ongoing and pending legislation.

First, he shared copies of the current SR6 Commission report noting that he anticipates several bills recommended in the report, including creating regional technical advisors for fire companies, easier access to training modules for volunteers and amendments to the current LOSAP legislation.

Representative Farry then shared information on HB 1687, to amend the Fireworks legislation passed last year, to provide time limits, some level of municipal control, increased fines, taxing restructuring and zoning regulations regarding tents.

Finally, he provided clarity to HB 1400, small cell legislation. He shared a Fact vs Myth sheet clarifying what the bill provides and what false claims have been disseminated. He noted that 28 states currently have this legislation, the bill has significant support from the business community, the bill is the most municipal friendly legislation of any other state, creates uniformity statewide, pushes the limits of what is allowed by the recent FCC order including fees and the application process. Also, the bill will provide an incentive for the industry to bring an estimated \$11 billion in upgrades to the State. This bill continues to be under discussion and amendment.

6. Adjournment:

With no further business, a motion was made by Diana Nolan and seconded by Bill Jones to adjourn the meeting at 6:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

David Nyman For Amy Schreiber Executive Director